“All that we are is the result of what we have thought. The mind is everything. What we think we become.”

Hindu Prince Gautama Siddharta, the founder of Buddhism

 

Working languages:

Luxembourgish (mother tongue),
German, French, English

Clientele:

Adults and adolescents

States of stress, which are generated by the strains of everyday life (job, employer, family responsibilities...) or by circumstances an individual is unable to accept, often bring about psychological effects like depression, anxiety, panic attacks, mental fatigue, burnout... It appears that beside these psychological consequences, also our body may be affected. Psychophysiological reactions such as cardiovascular problems, perturbations of the endocrine and the immune systems, medically unexplained pain complaints and psychosomatic symptoms are considered as some of the most frequent outcomes.

In this context, my main interest as a researcher in psychobiology / psychophysiology and as a psychologist has always lain in the captivating interplay between our mind and our body. I am passionate about the way our emotions and thoughts may influence our bodily functioning and vice versa. The impact may be beneficial as well as detrimental. Optimistic thoughts or positive expectancies, for instance, have relieving effects, whereas states of worry or anxiety are able to infect our daily life. The results of my research on the effects of psychological aspects on human pain sensitivity provide further evidence of this interdependence (see ‘my publications’).

My work as a psychologist builds on my understanding of the interaction between our mind and our body and its influence on our health and inner balance, as well as on my interest for the human being in general. Medically unexplained pain symptoms, psychosomatic complaints, depressive and anxiety states, mental fatigue, and burnout are only some aspects of the sprectrum of my professional offer.

My psychological counselling is based on my empathy and my professional experience, as well as - first and foremost - on my 12-year Education, my scientific research and resulting knowledge of the recent scientific developments, and on my skills in Acceptance and Commitment Therapy (ACT), in Cognitive-Behavioral Therapy (CBT), Hypnotherapy, and in the Progressive Muscle Relaxation Technique.

“All that we are is the result of what we have thought. The mind is everything. What we think we become.”

Hindu Prince Gautama Siddharta, the founder of Buddhism

 

Langues de travail: 

Luxembourgeois (langue maternelle),
Allemand, Français, Anglais 

Clientèle: 

Adultes and adolescents 

Les contraintes de la vie quotidienne ressenties comme accablantes (surcharge de travail, employeur, responsabilités familiales...) ou les circonstances qu’une personne est incapable d’accepter, peuvent provoquer des états de stress persistant. S’ensuivent souvent des effets psychologiques comme p. ex. des états dépressifs et d’angoisse, des attaques de panique, fatigue mentale, burnout... Il s’est avéré qu’outre ces troubles psychologiques, également notre corps réagit au stress chronique. Des problèmes cardiovasculaires, des perturbations du système endocrinien et immunitaire, des symptômes psychosomatiques ou des douleurs physiques médicalement non expliquées comptent parmi les conséquences psychophysiologiques les plus fréquentes.

Dans ce contexte, mon intérêt comme chercheur en psychobiologie / psychophysiologie et comme psychologue reposait toujours sur cette interaction captivante entre notre corps et notre esprit. Je suis passionnée par la façon dont nos émotions et nos pensées influencent notre corps et vice versa. Cette interdépendance peut être aussi bien bénéfique que nuisible. Des pensées ou attentes optimistes, par exemple, ont souvent un impact positif et soulageant, tandis que des états d’angoisse peuvent contaminer notre vie quotidienne. Les résultats de ma recherche relative aux effets de certains aspects psychologiques sur la sensibilité à la douleur apportent une preuve directe de la connexion corps-esprit (voir ‘mes publications’).

Mon travail comme psychologue est basé sur ma compréhension particulière de cette action réciproque et de son influence sur notre santé et notre équilibre intérieur, ainsi que sur mon intérêt pour l’être humain en général. Des symptômes de douleur médicalement inexpliqués, des troubles psychosomatiques, des états dépressifs ou d’angoisse, de panique, de fatigue mentale, et de burnout sont entre autres quelques uns des thèmes de mon offre professionnelle.

Mes conseils s’appuient sur mon empathie et mon expérience professionnelle, ainsi que - et avant tout - sur mon éducation de 12 ans, ma recherche scientifique, ma connaissance approfondie des recherches récentes, et sur ma formation psychothérapeutique à la Thérapie d'Acceptation et d'Engagement (ACT), à la Thérapie Cognitivo-Comportementale (TCC), l'Hypnothérapie, et la Relaxation Musculaire Progressive. Sur cette base, j’accompagne le client dans les périodes difficiles de sa vie en le soutenant dans ses efforts de retrouver un état d’équilibre psychologique et psychophysiologique.